Thanksgiving Leftovers – Turkey Shepherds Pie

One of my new obsessions is the Tasty Facebook page. If you haven’t seen it yet, do a search! It’s just a bunch of short one or two minute videos of recipes. So, although I did pin this recipe to my food board in Pinterest, it originated from the Tasty  page.

We cooked two turkeys this Thanksgiving, so naturally we had a TON of leftovers. I saw this video for turkey shepherds pie that looked amazing and I knew I had to try it. 

I made a few slight changes from the original recipe due to what I had on hand, and it still came out delicious!

The ingredients needed to make this recipe include: 

  • 2 Tbsp. – Butter
  • 1 Small Onion, diced
  • 1 Rib Celery, diced
  • 1 Cup – Carrots, pre-cooked and chopped
  • 1 Cup – Peas
  • 3 Cups – Turkey
  • 1/2 tsp – Thyme
  • 1/4 tsp – Salt
  • 1/4 tsp – Pepper
  • 1 Cup – Gravy
  • 1/2 Cup – Heavy Cream
  • 4 Cups – Mashed Potatoes

  
I started by preheating the oven to 425 degrees and melting the butter in a large pan.

  
Once the butter was fully melted I added the onions and celery and cooked them for about 5 minutes, or until they were softened.

  
Next I added in my chopped, cooked carrots. If you didn’t have cooked carrots, you could chop up a couple of raw carrots and sauté them with the onions and celery in the previous step.

  
Once the carrots were warmed through, I added my frozen peas.

 
 After the peas were thawed, I added the turkey, thyme, salt, and pepper.
  
Then I added the gravy to the mix.

  
Next, I poured the heavy cream into the pan and stirred everything together.

  
Once all the ingredients were combined, I poured the mixture into an oven-safe pan.

  
Finally, I spread the mashed potatoes over the top.

  
I baked the shepherds pie in the oven for 15 minutes, then took it out and let it cool for 5 to 10 minutes.

It was super yummy! I plan to make this a post-Thanksgiving tradition 🍗  

Leave a Reply

