Make Your Own Floor Wipes

I have one of those Swiffer steamer mops. I love it because it’s easy to use and does a good job cleaning the floor using steam. The one thing I don’t like is how expensive the Swiffer wipes are. It’s about $10 for a package of 20, so that’s 0.50 per wipe.

I found a website on Pinterest that provided instructions on making your own floor wipes using stuff you may already have around your house, or items you can find at the dollar store (http://www.popsugar.com/smart-living/Homemade-Reusable-Floor-Wipes-28139096). It will literally cost you pennies per wipe! The website said the wipes were reusable, but I found them to be too thin to reuse.

The materials needed to make your own floor wipes include:

  • Sealable rectangular container
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup vinegar
  • 1/4 cup rubbing alcohol
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon liquid dish soap
  • Cotton cloths
  • Scissors

  
I started by mixing the water, vinegar, alcohol, lemon juice, and dish soap together in the container.

 

Then I cut my cotton cloths to fit into the container. I was able to cut mine in half and it gave me 12 cloths.

  
 Next, I placed the cut cloths into the liquid and made sure they were all fully soaked.

 
Finally, I attached a moistened cloth to my mop. It worked great! It’s a little thinner then the Swiffer brand cloths, so I did need about double the cloths to finish my mopping job. But it is still way cheaper! If the cloths start to dry out, just add a little more water to wet them.

  

Leave a Reply

