Leaf Suncatcher

Earlier this month, my son’s teacher read his class a story about going on a leaf hunt. He was so excited about the book that he kept asking me to take him on a leaf hunt. So one beautiful fall day, we set out on a leaf hunt around our yard.

We collected so many beautiful leaves, that I wanted to find a fun project to make using our leaves. I came across this adorable leaf suncatcher on Pinterest (http://buzzmills.typepad.com/blog/2013/10/preschool-project-embroidery-hoop-leaf-suncatchers.html)

The materials needed to make this project include:

  • Leaves
  • Contact paper
  • Embroidery hoop
  • Scissors
  • Ribbon
  • Twine

  
We started out by going on our leaf hunt 🙂 The kids love being outside.  

Next, I cut out two pieces of contact paper, slightly larger than the embroidery hoop.  

Then I peeled one of the sheets of contact paper, laid it down sticky side up and placed one of the embroidery rings on top. I had my son choose a few of the leaves and press them into the sticky paper.  

Next I peeled the other sheet of contact paper that I had cut out and placed it over the ring and leaves, sticky side down. I put the other piece of the embroidery ring over the contact paper and secured it shut. 

I trimmed off the excess contact paper from around the ring. 
Then I attached a piece of twine to the metal closure on the ring.

  
Finally I tied a ribbon to the top of the ring, to dress it up just a little. 
I hung the leaf suncatcher in the window and it looks beautiful! Such a pretty way to display our colorful fall leaves 🙂 

Leave a Reply

