Slow Cooked Apple Sauce

There’s nothing like that intoxicating smell of apples and cinnamon that fill the house when you make your own apple sauce. It’s so easy to make and my kids can’t get enough!

I like to use my slow cooker to make apple sauce so that I can just throw all the ingredients in and have the day free to do other things, but you could definitely make this on the stove in a pot over low heat. I found a great recipe on Pinterest (http://leelalicious.com/slow-cooked-apple-sauce/). The thing I like best about this recipe is that it uses maple syrup, a natural sweetener. Of course the apples themselves get sweet and delicious as they cook down, but a little extra sweetener makes it taste even better πŸ™‚

I doubled the recipe I found because it only used six apples and I had soooo many apples from apple picking.

The ingredients needed to make my recipe include:

  • 12 apples, peeled, cored, and sliced
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • Pinch of salt 
  • 2 tablespoons maple syrup
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice

  
I started by peeling, coring, and slicing the apples. This part is a little time consuming.

  
Then I mixed all the ingredients together in my slow cooker.

  
I put the lid on, turned the slow cooker on high and left it for about 4 hours (maybe even a little less). It came out delicious! I love putting mine on top of pancakes πŸ™‚

  

Leave a Reply

