Pumpkin Bars with Maple Pecan Glaze

We have officially entered one of my favorite times of year, pumpkin season! I am one of those people who loves anything and everything pumpkin. I came across this delicious recipe for pumpkin bars that looked amazing (http://www.hallmarkchannel.com/home-and-family/recipes/grain-free-pumpkin-bars-with-maple-pecan-glaze).

It turns out this recipe is grain-free and dairy-free, which would normally scare me away (I like all food groups too much to eliminate any of them from my diet), but I can assure you that you won’t even notice those items are missing. I also thought it sounded complicated, but it was rediculously easy! Here’s a tip though, DO NOT skip the maple pecan glaze. The glaze (mine turned out more like a cream consistency) absolutely makes these bars to die for. The pumpkin bars by themselves are just ok, so definitely make that delicious glaze 🙂

The ingredients needed to make this recipe include:

For the bars:

  • 1/2 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 cup almond butter (I used cashew butter because I had some left over from the Asian salad that I made)
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda

For the glaze:

  • 3/4 cup pecans
  • 1/4 cup pure maple syrup
  • 2 Tablespoons coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • Pinch of sea salt

  
I started by heating the oven to 350 degrees and greasing an 8×8 baking dish with a little coconut oil. Then I mixed all of the ingredients for the bars together in a mixing bowl.

  
I poured the smooth batter into my baking dish and baked it in the oven for 30 minutes.

  
Once the pumpkin bars were cool I cut them into nine squares.

  
Next, I put all of the ingredients for the maple pecan glaze into a blender and blended on the sauce setting until smooth, maybe about a minute or so. Like I said before, mine came out more like a cream consistency and less like a glaze. I think adding a little more water would have thinned it out a bit, but I actually really like the cream.

  
Finally, I spooned the glaze over the bars and sprinkled some chopped pecans on top. It was so good!

  

Leave a Reply

