Tic-Tac-Toe

I love making things where I can use materials that I either already have on hand or can buy inexpensively. I was scrolling through Pinterest one night and came across a cute homemade tic-tac-toe game (http://www.realsimple.com/new-uses-for-old-things/new-uses-living-room/rocks-as-tic-tac-toe-game?crlt_pid=camp.slCsweMcGy9G) and I immediately thought of the left over polished river rocks I had from my fairy garden project. That means all I needed was a board and paint or something to draw the x’s, o’s and lines.

I happen to be looking through the $3 bin at Target (one of my favorite stores) and saw the perfect wooden tray to use as the board. I was so excited, but I still needed something to draw the lines with. I didn’t really want to buy a whole jar of paint that I might not use again, so I decided to try white-out. It’s sort of like paint, right? It only cost $0.95. That means this whole project cost me less than $4.00!

Materials needed to make this project include:

  • 10 rocks (preferably flat)
  • A small tray
  • White-out (or paint)

  

 I started by drawing the X’s and O’s on each of the rocks using the white-out. 

  
Next, I drew the lines on the tray. In was pretty tricky, so the lines aren’t perfect.  

  
After it dried completey, I put it all together and played a game of tic-tac-toe! I’m starting to teach my son how to play. He hasn’t quite figured it out yet, but he has fun trying šŸ™‚ 

  

Leave a Reply

