Home Remedy Cough Medicine

Our house has already been hit by a back-to-school cold. Both kids having runny noses, sore throats, and bad coughs. At their ages, they can’t take cough medicine to help ease the coughing that keeps them up at night. 

I found a recipe on Pinterest for a healthy alternative to cough medicine (http://nancyvienneau.com/blog/articles/home-remedy/). It’s made from safe ingredients you may already have in your kitchen! The recipe does contain honey, which is not recommended for children under the age of one.

The ingredients needed to make this home remedy cough medicine include:

  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar (using organic is preferred)
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 1 tablespoon honey (using raw, local is best because it contains the most health benefits)

  
I started by mixing together the cayenne pepper, ground ginger, water and apple cider vinegar together in a bowl.

  
Next, I stirred in the honey. It took a good minute or two of mixing to get the honey to incorporate into the liquid.

  
Made in this small quantity, there is no need to refrigerate any leftovers. I poured the mixed liquid into a small jar I happened to already have. This was pretty convenient because I could easily shake it up when the ingredients naturally separated.

  
The website I read didn’t have any exact dosages, but I figure it’s about 1 tablespoon at a time. I tried this on my three-year-old son and only gave him 1 teaspoon. As you can imagine, he wasn’t a fan of the flavor. The pepper and ginger make it a little spicy, but I thought it was pretty good. A lot better than the cough syrup you buy at the store.

As far as the effectiveness goes, I’d say it worked well. I gave my son the cough medicine just before bed and he didn’t wake up coughing until around 4am. The night before, he woke up coughing at 11pm. I started getting a sore throat and took a tablespoon this morning, then another tonight, and my throat does feel better. Let’s hope this cold doesn’t go any further.

Leave a Reply

