The Best Way to Make Corn on the Cob

Sadly we are approaching the end of summer, but that means deliciously fresh corn at local farm stands and farmers markets! I’ve seen a ton of posts on Pinterest that claim to be the “best” way to make corn on the cob, so I had to try it (http://spicysouthernkitchen.com/best-way-to-cook-corn-on-the-cob/).

I took the kids to a great local farm stand and picked up half a dozen ears of corn. It’s so much fun to let them help pick out the food they are going to eat and get excited about eating it!

Ingredients needed for this recipe:

  • 6-8 ears of corn
  • 1 cup of milk
  • 1 stick of salted butter (you could also use unsalted butter and add about 1/4 tsp of salt, which is what I did)

  

 I started by filling a large pot with water about half way and bringing it to a boil.
  

 Next I added the salt, milk, butter and stirred it until the butter melted. 

  
 Then I added the corn and put a lid on the pot and simmered for 6 to 8 minutes.

  
 Finally I removed the corn from the liquid and added it to my dinner plate! Since there was so much butter in the water, there is no need to butter the corn before you eat it. I just added a little extra salt before I ate mine. I’m wondering if I wouldn’t have to do that if I had used salted butter. Either way, it was delicious! I will be making corn on the cob this way every time I make it now 🙂

  
 

Leave a Reply

