Gluten-Free Meat Lasagna

A friend of mine recently had a baby and I wanted to bring her a meal so she wouldn’t have to cook. Speaking from experience, new moms are way too tired to cook when there is a new baby in the house. She made me meatballs when I had my daughter and I wanted to return the favor 🙂

I wanted to make something that could freeze and reheat easily, and I also needed to make sure it was gluten free because my friend has celiacs disease. I came across this recipe for a gluten free lasagna from the host of America’s Test Kitchen, Christopher Kimball (http://www.recapo.com/today-show/today-show-recipes/today-show-chris-kimballs-gluten-free-lasagna-recipe-new-cookbook/#_a5y_p=1470081). The only difference between this lasagna and a regular one is the gluten free noodles, so this recipe could easily be made with traditional lasagna noodles.

I only made a couple of changes to the original recipe. He called for diced tomatoes that he put in the food processor. To save that step, I just bought crushed tomatoes instead. Also, it called for fresh basil, but I bought canned tomatoes with Italian seasoning instead.

Here are the ingredients for this recipe:

Noodles & Sauce Ingredients

  • 12 gluten-free Lasagna Noodles (10 ounces)
  • Salt & Pepper
  • 1 tbsp Olive Oil
  • 1 28-oz can Crushed Tomato with Italian seasoning
  • 1 chopped Onion
  • 6 minced cloves Garlic
  • 1 lb Meatloaf Mix
  • 1/4 cup Heavy Cream
  • 1 28-oz can Tomato Puree

Filling Ingredients

  • 16 oz whole-milk Ricotta Cheese
  • 1 cup grated Parmesan Cheese
  • 1 Egg, lightly beaten
  • 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 1/2 tsp Pepper
  • 1 lb shredded Mozzarella Cheese

  

 I started by puting the oven rack to the middle position, and preheating the oven to 375 degrees.

Then, I boiled some water in a large pot and added the lasagna noodles and some salt to the water to season the pasta. Once the noodles were cooked, I laid the them out on a baking sheet and set them aside.

  
 Next I added the olive oil to a Dutch oven over medium heat and sauteed the onion until softened. Then I added the garlic and cooked for about 30 more seconds, until fragrant.  

 
 Next I sprinkled in 1/2 teaspoon salt and 1/2 teaspoon pepper, and added the meatloaf mix. I broke up any large pieces with a wooden spoon and cooked until no longer pink.

  
 Then I added the cream and cooked until the liquid evaporated and only the rendered fat remains.

  
 Then I added the crushed tomatoes and the tomato puree and brought it to a simmer. I reduced the heat to low and cooked until the sauce thickened. It took about 15 to 20 minutes. 

  
 While the sauce was simmering, I started on the filling.

I combined the ricotta, parmesan, egg, salt, and pepper in a bowl.

  
 Once the sauce was finished, I spread a layer of the meat sauce evenly over the bottom of a 13 by 9-inch disposable baking dish.

  
 Then I arranged 4 noodles in a single layer on top of the sauce. Don’t mind my broken noodles, I had issues removing them from the pot!

  
 Next I spread each noodle evenly with some of the ricotta mixture. 

  
 Then I sprinkled 1 cup mozarella on top of that entire layer.

  
 I repeated this layering process of noodles, ricotta, mozzarella, sauce two more times. The final layer was the last three noodles and a remaining 1 cup of sauce. At the very top, I covered it with the remaining 1 cup mozzarella.Then, I covered the dish with aluminum foil sprayed with vegetable oil spray and baked for 20 minutes. 

  
I removed the foil and continued to bake for about 20 to 25 minutes longer.

  
Hopefully she likes it and enjoys a much needed break from cooking!

  

Leave a Reply

