Asian Chopped Salad

I came across this Asian chopped salad recipe on Pinterest and immediately thought it looked delicious (http://mywholefoodlife.com/2015/06/24/asian-chopped-salad/). I like the standard garden salad as much as the next person, but this just looked so colorful and interesting I had to try it.

It looks like a long list of ingredients, but it really couldn’t be easier!

For the salad:

  • 1 head lettuce, chopped (I used green leaf lettuce like the recipe suggested)
  • 1 red pepper, thinly sliced
  • 1 orange pepper, thinly sliced (I try to use organic whenever possible but couldn’t find any organic orange peppers, so I used yellow instead)
  • 1/2 purple cabbage, thinly sliced
  • 2 cups edamame or green peas (I used frozen edamame that I warmed up in the microwave for about 2 minutes then let cool in the fridge for about 30 minutes)
  • 1 cup carrots, cut into ribbons or shredded (I used pre-shredded because it was easier)
  • 1/2 cup cashews
  • 1/4 cup green onions, chopped (I omitted this ingredient because we aren’t a big onion family)

For the dressing:

  • 1/3 cup + 1 T unsalted peanut butter (I used cashew butter because I thought it would go well with the cashews in the salad, but cashew butter doesn’t have a lot of flavor. Next time I will definitely try peanut butter)
  • 1/4 cup fresh orange juice
  • 1 T soy sauce (I used low sodium)
  • 2 T lime juice
  • 1/2 tsp ginger, minced
  • 1 small clove garlic, minced

  

 I chopped all of the salad ingredients and mixed them together in a large bowl. Then, I whisked all of the dressing ingredients together separately in a small bowl.

 
 

Finally I added the dressing to the salad and mixed it all together until combined.   
 The end result was yummy and healthy 🙂

Leave a Reply

