DIY Utensil Holder

My daughter’s 1st birthday is coming up next weekend and we’re having a little party to celebrate. I usually buy one of those plastic containers filled with disposable utensils, pull off the top, and put the container on the table for people to grab. I saw a cute picture on Pinterest where someone took an empty tin can, covered it with wrapping paper, and used it to display utensils for a birthday party (http://www.doodlebugblog.com/2011_11_01_archive.html). I thought this was a great idea! The website just had a picture, but it seemed easy enough to make.

First, I pulled together all of the materials I would need.

  • Tin cans
  • Wrapping paper (I used gift bag because that’s what I already had on-hand)
  • Scissors
  • Tape
  • Ribbon

  

Next, I cut the gift bag so it was one big sheet of paper. Then I measured out the size I wanted, based on the size of the cans, and cut out the bag.

  

I wrapped the paper around the cans and secured it with a piece of tape.

  

Finally, I tied some ribbon around each can and added the utensils. I think it came out super cute!

  

Leave a Reply

