Cinnamon and Sugar Popcorn

We’ve only gotten above freezing one day in the month of February! That means, as much as we love going outside sledding in all this snow, the wind chill temperatures at zero or below keep us inside most of the time. I don’t know about you, but when I’m bored inside all day I tend to want to snack more. I try not to keep much junk food in the house, but granola bars and string cheese gets old after a while.

My son loves popcorn and we always have some in the house (we pop our own kernels, it’s so much better than microwave). We usually just sprinkle a little salt on it, but I wanted to try something different. I searched Pinterest and found a great recipe for cinnamon and sugar popcorn (http://www.serenabakessimplyfromscratch.com/2012/10/cinnamon-sugar-popcorn.html?m=1).

I started by popping the popcorn in our Whirley Pop. If you’ve never heard of it, search for it on Amazon. It’s a stovetop popcorn popper that is reasonably priced and pops popcorn perfectly (thanks Lisa, one of my favorite Christmas gifts)! The website called for 12 cups of popped popcorn, but I only made about 6 cups, so I cut the rest of the recipe in half. Next, I melted some butter and added a little vanilla extract and poured it over the popcorn. Finally, I mixed some cinnamon and sugar together and sprinkled it over the popcorn.

This ended up being an easy and delicious snack! Our fingers did get a little sticky, but licking it off was pretty tasty. Definitely a thumbs up from my three-year-old 🙂

IMG_2498

IMG_2499

IMG_2500

Leave a Reply

