Heart-Shaped Suncatchers

Valentine’s Day is coming up, and I wanted to find a fun Valentine’s craft that my three-year-old could help me with. When I was looking through Pinterest, the picture of these heart-shaped suncatchers really caught my eye (http://www.funathomewithkids.com/2014/01/heart-suncatcher-craft-for-toddlers.html). They looked so pretty!

The items for this craft include, coffee filters, liquid water color, paint tray, and eye-dropper (or the syringe from infant pain reliever in my case because I couldn’t find an eye-dropper). First, I started by flattening out the coffee filters. Next, I put a coffee filter on a paper plate and poured the liquid water color into the paint tray (we used red and yellow). Finally, we used the syringe to pick up the paint and squirted it out onto the coffee filter. Once we liked the way it looked, we laid it on a paper towel to dry.

The next morning I cut out heart-shapes from the dried coffee filters. The website I found cut out the heart shapes first, but I didn’t think it would matter. I put one of the hearts in the window and it looked beautiful!

This was a quick and fun craft. My son had so much fun making them. It was easy for him to paint, and clean up was easy for me. They came out so pretty and I bet you could use the same method to create other suncatcher shapes, like leaves for the fall. We will definitely be making these again.

IMG_2461

IMG_2463

IMG_2464

IMG_2467

Leave a Reply

